Meeting Reminder: YOU!

Two days ago I was very overwhelmed with work. I had been asked to do something I knew very little about and with a limited knowledge of the organization, I was not quite sure what exactly the product I needed to deliver looked like. Sound familiar? Of course not. Every time you’re assigned something you know exactly what your boss wants. You envision the final product so clearly you simply copy it from your memory onto the computer. (Am I being too sarcastic?)

So what do you do in those moments where you feel overwhelmed?  I’ll  tell you what I do:

Have a meeting with yourself.

Invite no one but yourself. Take nothing with you except maybe something to write with and try to get rid of all distractions.

We have meetings throughout the day, sometimes all we do is sit in meetings talking about issues, troubles and if we are lucky we talk about solutions to fix things. So why can’t we do the same with ourselves?

I  stood up, put on my suit jacket,  and went for a walk.  Luckily, the weather is good and I ended up sitting outside  on some patio furniture  near a fountain.  As I sat there  thinking of the difficulties  I was facing with work, not just the one I mentioned earlier, I realized how  dumb I was being. My mind was clear and I was able to think about what matters most and  realize the worst that could happen would not be that bad. I took out my iPhone  and began typing my thoughts in Evernote. Writing is my favorite medium. For communicating wih myself. I learned quickly  the value of stepping back from the busyness  of the office and having a meeting with myself.

How do you clear your mind during your day?

Leave a Reply

